Favorites

Recently someone here asked me what my favorite thing about Hong Kong was. The first thing that came to mind at that moment was the beautiful variety of tropical trees and flowers. Being from Oregon I’m used to amazing spring blooms…the tulips, daffodils, azaleas, rhododendrons, hyacinth and more. Then in the summertime at home I have been enjoying my dahlia garden. But moving here in February I was struck with how everything seemed already in bloom. It reminded me a bit of Southern California in that there are always some flowers in bloom. Most of the tropical flowers here are new to me though. I told Abe that I need to get a field guide for southeast Asia. What an artist our God is. It is easy to see that He delights in variety and exquisite color and form. Here are some of the flowers I have been enjoying. These flowers may not be in my own garden but I’m enjoying them just the same. Watch out I just might bring some clippers with me and make myself a bouquet the next time I’m out! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Favorites

  1. Thank you Holly, for sharing those lovely pictures of flowers. Right now we are enjoying all the blooming going on. Some of them I particularly enjoy are the remains of the wild flowers that we received seeds for at your wedding. I don’t know the name of this one flower, but it’s tall and especially blue and beautiful. I reseed it every year and it keeps coming back to my enjoyment.
    Enjoy your time in that so very different culture.

  2. Thank you for posting these beautiful photos of the flowers. I definitely agree — Our God is an awesome God. He is an extremely creative artist! I miss these flowers…so glad I can come to your blog to see pics of them. =)

Leave a Reply

