Book Club

IMG_6181It has been a treat to watch Elliot become a real reader. He can often be found up in his bunk bed reading just for fun. I love this because I don’t recall reading much at all for mere pleasure as a child. Now in adulthood and in the midst of parenting I do read quite a bit, mostly out loud including stories such as “Make Way for Ducklings”, “The Hungry Caterpillar”, “The Little House” or The Biggest Bear”. So when my friend here in Gold Coast invited me to join her book club last summer I was a bit intimidated. I honestly couldn’t recall the last novel I’d read. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to read more it’s just that I wasn’t sure how to fit it into my busy mothering/ homeschooling schedule. But wanting to connect a bit more with ladies in Gold Coast and up for the challenge to read more for mere pleasure I decided to join them.

In our book club we each take turns choosing a book and are given a month to complete the book. Unfortunately we don’t read beautiful books like the one in this photo. We have found that our book choices need to be available on kindle for US, Australia and UK users to ensure that we can each have a copy of the book in time. It is definitely not as nice to cuddle up with a blanket, a cup of coffee and a ‘screen’ of sorts but I have gotten more used to it than I thought I would.

After we have read the book we then meet up the first Tuesday evening of the next month to talk and discuss the book together. It’s been a treat to meet up with these ladies and do something new like this. I have to admit though that I haven’t read the selected book each and every month. There have been a couple that I couldn’t get through for one reason or another.

The other month it was my turn to select a book. After talking with a good college friend of mine about her book club and some of the books she has enjoyed reading I chose the first book in the series, “Call the Midwife”. It is a memoir from a midwife in London’s rough East End in the 1950’s. Being a nurse and a mother it intrigued me. It was a really enjoyable read. Meeting up with our book club and discussing this book was delightful. Each of us are mothers and we were able to talk of our own experiences as well as the birthing traditions/culture from our own countries. As I shared with Abe about our meeting later that night I realized that there were 7 of us ladies all from 7 different countries…..England, Ireland, Scotland, China, Taiwan, Kenya and the US! Such a unique experience to meet up from all parts of the globe and share so many commonalities. It leaves me thankful for another really rich experience here in Hong Kong.

2 thoughts on “Book Club

  1. Another interesting “post” Holly. Did you know that “Call the Midwife” is another Masterpiece theater production? Jud has watched it but it has a little too much “birthing process” info for him! Other than that he found it interesting.

  2. Could you add a picture of the book club members here? We’d all love to see them – all those from at least 7 countries!

Leave a Reply

